Paleo Challenge

As a fitness professional you may think I don’t need to work on my diet, but let me tell you pizza and macaroni and cheese are my best friends! My crossfit box is part of a national challenge, Lurong Living Paleo Challenge, and when I heard about it I knew I had to sign up.

I didn’t know if I was going to be able to commit to 100% paleo but that wasn’t my goal. My goal for this challenge is to clean up my diet and see the world of food from a different light. I am in week two of the challenge and was faced with challenges right off the bat…a wedding. Not only attending a wedding, but being in a wedding so it was a three day long thing! It was a blast, but I did sacrifice my diet a little…but in the grand scheme of things, I don’t want to stop living, and enjoying things I used to, I just want to be more conscious of what I eat. So although it was a challenge, I made much better choices then I would have otherwise.

20130927-064734.jpg

So what all does this challenge entail?

20130927-064859.jpg
Diet stats obviously. These are tracked just by entering whether each meal was clean or a cheat. Clean meals are worth +2 and cheat meals are -3. At the end of each day you login and enter this data, if you have a busy week you have 5 days to get any single day entered in.

20130927-065043.jpg
WODs. There are 10 WODs to do throughout the challenge. There were three in the first two weeks, and then there after it will be one per week. You can do these anytime you want, but they have to be done at a box and are supposed to be supervised by a coach. Along with the WODs you also have to get basic measurements done at your box by a coach.

20130927-065604.jpg
Goals. They have a list of goals you can pick from, some are very specific, like “I want to do a handstand push-up with 1 mat” , and some are very general, like “I want to workout 5times a week”. You choose, you conquer.

20130927-065818.jpg
Food Adventures. This is an area in which you can enter recipes you have tried and liked. I will definitely be sharing some of my favorites over the remaining 6 weeks of the challenge.

20130927-070041.jpg
And the final cool feature of the challenge is you can see where you stack up against other participants at your gym and across the nation in you WODs and diet.

Each of the above mentioned things has a point value designated to it. Throughout the challenge they give out prizes for various achievements and do random prize drawings, so it gives you some incentive to eat clean and workout hard.

So far I’ve really enjoyed my experience, next challenge up…my birthday weekend is this weekend! Wish me luck with all my lunch/dinner dates I have.

Leave a Reply

