Pacer and Paleo Applesauce

This is a busy week for me, both professionally and personally.

Professionally I am putting on, for the second time, a 5K/10K race as an alcohol alternative at the university where I work. I love racing and race directing is super fun too, but it is a lot of work no matter how large or small the event is. So Saturday will consist of a 4:30am wake up call so I can get my butt to work and get things going for the 9am start time. Wahoo!

Personally I am acting as a pacer for the first time in my life….For the Biggest Loser Half Marathon! This will not be my first run-in with Biggest Loser, a couple years ago I met Patrick the winner of that season.

20131015-214109.jpg
I am very nervous because I haven’t raced in a few months and I have never run at an 11:30 pace. I am typically a 9:15 pace, but I’ve been working on slowing things down…which lets be honest when I do long runs I should be running much slower than I actually do to gain the physiological benefits of anaerobic exercise, so practicing a slower pace is a nice wake up call for me. The other thing that makes me nervous is that I have never run 13.1 miles nonstop, but I am confident I can do it at this much slower pace. I need to just get to the start line and let my leg take over and listen to my body.

*****

Now for the good stuff! Paleo applesauce! If I haven’t mentioned it before, I will tell you that I’m not much of a recipe creator, I’m a recipe tester and I make little modifications here and there. This applesauce was awesome and tasted just like my mom’s growing up, but the nutritional stats are much healthier, sorry mom.

Paleo Applesauce
6 medium apples (I used apples from my aunts apple tree, not sure what kind they are exactly)
3/4 cup water
2 Tbsp honey
Dash of cinnamon

Prepare apples by peeling, cutting and dicing them. Heat the water on medium high in a medium pot. Then add apples, honey, and cinnamon. Cook 15-20 minutes, stirring occasionally. Take pot off burner and mash apples until desired consistency. Store and cool in refrigerator. Bon appetite!
**This only makes about 4 half cup servings, so plan accordingly if you want more…and you will want more.
{This recipe is from Cave Girl in the City}

Q/A: Have you ever paced a race? Any tips?

2 thoughts on “Pacer and Paleo Applesauce

  1. Several years back I paced the 12:00 group for a women’s half marathon. It was loads of fun, but probably the biggest tip I can give you is to make sure that you’re sticking to the pace. By mile 6 or so many of the ladies in my group had started slowing and complaining that we were going too fast. It was a challenge for me not to slow down and cheer them on, so I had to keep reminding myself that my job was to set the pace for anyone who wanted to run it. Miles 12 and 13 were pretty lonely. 🙂

    Have fun, and congrats in advance on a successful race.

Leave a Reply

